Revenue villages of the district are divided into 5 tehsils namely Dantewada, Geedam, Katekalyan, Kuwakonda and Bade Bacheli. Bade Bacheli is the latest addition of tehsils formed in April 2015 by bifurcating Kuakonda and Dantewada Tehsils. All these tehsils come under one revenue sub-division Dantewada. 

Sr.No.Tehsil NameNo. of Villages

Tehsil wise numbers of inhabited revenue villages are detailed here under :-
1 Dantewada 48
2 Geedam 72
3 Katekalyan 43
4 Kuakonda 26
5 Bade Bacheli 45

Apart from the above 234 inhabited revenue villages there are 7 uninhabited villages in the district 1 in Tehasil Dantewada, 2 in Tehasil Geedam, 1 in Tehasil Katekalyan 2 villages in Bade Bacheli and 1 uninhabited village in Tahasil Kuakonda.